Reverb10 – Dec 18 – Try

What do you want to try next year? Is there something you wanted to try in 2010? What happened when you did / didn’t go for it? (Author: Kaileen Elise)

I’ve tried all sorts of things this year, and it was those linked to writing that bore the most fruit. I took part in a really successful live poetry evening, which kick-started me writing again, and then – just for a laugh – I decided to have a bash at NaNoWriMo, too. I didn’t finish NaNo, but I did write around 40,000 words, which is more than I’ve written in the last five years put together. I’d always doubted that I had the ability or tenacity to produce such sustained writing.

My post-Christmas treat will be picking it up and reading what I’ve written so far. I usually like to let things stew for a while before I go back to them. I decided a list was the best way to attack this prompt, and I’ve realised that each of the items on it are essentially prompts in themselves, so you can all look forward to me revisiting – and expanding on – these topics at some point post #reverb10.

* More live poetry: I’ve been bitten by the bug.
* Continue/ finish the novel, as it would seem I’m capable of sustaining lengthy projects after all.
* Go down to the beach at least once a week. It’s criminal that I live so close but don’t go there more often.
* Go for pedicures. I fancy having celebrity toes, and my bending deficiency makes doing them such hard work.
* Grow my hair! This is partially achieved but I’m still in the crazy in-between stage.
* Go on The X Factor. (This isn’t a joke, you know!)
* Learn more things: Welsh, driving and web design are top of my list.
* Creating a productivity tool for work, to help us use our (limited) time much more efficiently.
* Being organised – this is such a novelty!
* Using my brain to its optimum level.

 

Aberystwyth Harbour

 

 

Looking back, I’ve realised that my first #reverb10 post was about choosing a word to encapsulate next year, 2011. The word I chose was ’embrace’, and next year I fully intend to grasp every opportunity that I create or that arises, and hold on to it, not run away.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. me and a coup,e of girls from the safe house were going to enter x factor ( as a joke) next year lol…to sound as rough as possible but act as serious as possible about it 😉 None of them will really do it of course 😛

    I’m with you on all the other things…tho I wish I lived near the sea…I really like Aber 🙂 B says she wants to go to Uni when older and wants to go to Aber lol…:) ( She’s only 11 bless her but already says she wants to be an artist or a writer 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment