Reverb10 – Dec 30 – Gift

This month, gifts and gift-giving can seem inescapable. What’s the most memorable gift, tangible or emotional, you received this year?

(Author: Holly Root)

My iPod. In its new pink skin.

Tempting as it is to spend another post waxing lyrical about my wonderful family and friends – because having special people in my life is the gift that just keeps on giving – when it comes to stuff, the best gift I’ve received this year was my iPod Touch, which Leo bought for me in the spring.

It’s meant I can take oodles of music wherever I go, and when I’ve heard something on the radio that I’ve liked, iTunes has let me buy it before I forget what it is.

Being able to check my emails –  and the ubiquitous Facebook and Twitter updates –  anywhere in the house has brought me back to the bosom of my family rather than being squirrelled away in my study.

Having weather updates, a spirit level, and a planetarium in my pocket has been really useful – I actually used the iHandy Level app to put up some shelves. Angry Birds, DoodleJump and Words with Friends have kept me amused – sadly the virtual aquarium was less riveting and Leo has frequently chastised me for letting my fish die. Again.

Up until a few weeks ago, I’d never really got into podcasts, but on a whim a few weeks ago I searched for some relaxation/ meditation ones and the choice overwhelmed me . Some of them, it has to be said, are less wonderful – the man with a voice like a robot who sounded like he’s recorded his podcast in a very echoey public toilet is my favourite for all the wrong reasons, as is the lady who obviously kept dropping things while she was recording. I’ve been saying for a while I should record my own: I think I’ll add that to next year’s to-do list.

So yes, the iPod wins, but honourable mentions do need to go to my Pandora bracelet – complete with one-of-a-kind mammoth charm; the Vivienne Westwood skull and crossbones earrings my best friend bought me for my birthday; the set of photos that my son took of me for an art project; My Philippe Starck Louis Ghost chair from my parents, and last, but definitely not least the Fame lip balm which is the only one which never dries out my lips.

And if that list makes you think that I’m horribly spoilt, well you’re right. But in my defence it was my fortieth birthday earlier on in the year, and all those lovely people whose presence in my life is such a treat really did spoil me rotten, I know that. I just hope that in the next year, and the year after that, and all the ones that follow, I’ll carry on being deserving of such thoughtfulness and generosity.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

