Reverb10 – Dec 24 – Everything’s OK

What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead?

(Author: Kate Inglis)

I’m not sure that this year was a year of big events and grand gestures. I think the moments when things felt like they made sense of the bigger picture were quite small, almost serendipitous.

There was the day when I’d been reflecting on being more open, more approachable, and letting more people into my daily life, and then I went on a walk just a few hours later and bumped into someone I knew down at the beach, and instead of making my excuses and running away I let myself be carried along by the situation, and we sat and watched the sea, and chatted and smoked some cigarettes, and I went home realising that it was OK to do that – more than OK, and actually pleasurable and meaningful.

There were a few times when I had to stand by – and sometimes fight for – my beliefs and principles in the knowledge that I was going against the flow, whether it was popular opinion I was spurning or my own internal anything-for-an-easy-life-ometer. Not only did things work out OK, but I found more respect for myself from others, and more importantly from myself.

Every time my son passes a module, or gets another competency ticked off in his driving lessons, I’m reminded that things are going to be OK for him, too. His journey through life is going to be different to most kids his age, slower at times and with different challenges, but he’ll get there.

I don’t get stressed about people not washing up straight away, or being as obsessive about housework as I am any more; I’ve trained myself to examine priorities – mine and other people’s – more, and be more empathic, and look at the whole picture because, you know, it’s OK to leave the dishes until the morning. The worst that can happen is that they might need soaking a little longer but that’s all: there’s no deeper meaning, they’re just unwashed dishes.

 

Vision Map for 2010

You know, it’s funny. The ‘Future Tool’ included in this prompt is How to Create Your Own Personal Manifesto, and one of the things Gwen Bell suggests is to make a vision map.

By freaky coincidence, I made mine a few weeks ago; I used pictures and words cut from magazines to make my own personal collage which now hangs in my study. I stuck various words and phrases on it, but the first one I found was the one that says, ‘Hey, it’s OK…’



Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I thought about the map idea for years now but have never done it. A guy called Len Edgerly ( he’s on twitter too btw…first person I ever followed lol) talked about it once and then it appeared in the dvd of “The secret” briefly.

    I’m going to do it. I’ve no mags though so will probably hunt pics from the net 🙂 xx

    Reply
  2. Do it! It was so much fun. I felt a bit daft at first but it was actually fun and powerful – I could imagine it being something you could adapt to do with your kids; I’m thinking about doing it at work tomorrow with a couple of my patients.

    Reply
  3. Ahhhh thats Gwen Bell…. reverb lady 😉 lol

    Reply
  4. I think I need magazines…the net isnt helping…arghhh I dont own any lol. Charity shops? where does one find a heap of old magazines

    Reply
  5. This is powerful, Emma! “…but I found more respect for myself from others, and more importantly from myself.” A good reminder.

    Love your vision board! What a beautiful tie-in to this prompt.

    With reverberations from #reverb10 HQ,
    cali

    Reply
    • Thank you, Cali! I must admit, much of the #reverb10 process has been a powerful one for me to witness… and I do find I tend to think of growth and change being processes – I like the way that one thing leads to another and sometimes there’s a trickle effect and other times it all snowballs: that’s fascinating to me.

      It was a wonderful coincidence that the day’s prompt linked to the vision map; I like to think that coincidences like that are secret winks from a universe that’s acknowledging the effort you’re making to keep moving and growing.

      I’ve loved doing #reverb10 – thank you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

