Reverb10 – Dec 22 – Travel

How did you travel in 2010? How and/or where would you like to travel next year?
(Author: Tara Hunt)

Off the top of my head, I think I stayed in at least four hotels this year, so I must have travelled a little! In January, Leo and I stayed in Wolverhampton when we went to see Henry Rollins, and we returned (but to a different, and considerably more sleazy hotel!) in May to see Florence + the Machine. I took my son to London for three nights in February, as part of his eighteenth birthday treat, much of which revolved around buses: we rode on a Routemaster, visited the London Transport Museum (which has as much to offer the graphic design geek as it does the bus fanatic), and saw Priscilla, Queen of the Desert.

Red Squirrel, Berlin - April 2010

And, of course, in April Leo and I went to Berlin. We walked miles and miles that weekend, and still didn’t get to see everything we planned to. We ate at some wonderful restaurants, took in history from as far back as pre-Columbian Mexico to the twentieth century DDR, spotted red squirrels in the Tiergarten, drank enormous glasses of beer, and generally had a marvellous time.

We every intention of going back to Berlin – whether or not we’ll manage it next year, I don’t know. We’ll definitely be going away on holiday somewhere; I’d like to go back to Thailand – I think Leo will love Bangkok – and I definitely need some sunshine. I’d like to go and have a few days in London, too, and hopefully I’ll get to spend some time at my parents’ home in France. I reckon if I fit at least two of those in I won’t be doing badly.

 

Zoologischer Garten, Berlin - April, 2010

Das Denkmal für die im Nationalsozialismus verfolgten Homosexuellen, Berlin

 

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Reverb10 – Dec 25 – Photo « emma lloyd | words
  2. Reverb10 – Dec 26 – Soul Food « emma lloyd | words

Leave a Reply

