Reverb10 – Dec 08 – Beautifully Different

Friends

Image by rwangsa via Flickr

Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.
(Author: Karen Walrond)

Ooh. Tricky. I could tell you about things I generally believe I’m good – or good enough – at, like parenting or being your friend or being a good advocate for my patients, that would be an easy enough task, even if it did feel like I was blowing my own trumpet a bit – I sometimes have to squint very hard to see the difference between celebrating one’s achievements and its unattractive sibling, showing off – but reflecting on the qualities I possess that others might think beautiful is very tough indeed.

Here goes, anyway:
I listen.
I remember what you’ve said.
I can piece that together with what you didn’t say and intuit all kinds of things that will help you make sense of it all.
I can make you a really good sandwich out of surprising ingredients.
I will scour eBay for the most bizarre but appropriate gifts for you.
I will remind you why you’re great, especially when you’ve forgotten.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

