Reverb10 – Dec 07 – Community

Holding Hands shadow on sand

Image via Wikipedia

2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?
(Author: Cali Harris)

I’m in severe danger of wandering off into the cheesy hinterlands of schmaltz and sentimentality with this post. I’m half-imagining you reading this while pretending to poke your fingers into your mouth making the universal gesture for ‘Help: I am about to vomit’, but I can deal with that. This year, though, I found community everywhere. I found it in real life, among my colleagues at work: we’re like one big dysfunctional but (mostly) loving family. I found it among my family, and realised the security and happiness of my family is something I would happily fight for. I discovered that there are opportunities for bonding with people, and growing with them, and sharing something bigger than the sum of its parts, all around me. And this is nothing new, you know. They haven’t just appeared from nowhere; they were there all along, but I didn’t know that because I wasn’t ready to take a deep breath and risk jumping out of the partial isolation I’d made myself too comfortable in.

I need my space, I know that, but I need company, too, and I’m blessed to have so many good people in my life. You know who you are.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. @Jikan

     /  December 10, 2010

    damn you write well 🙂

    You are a lucky person to have your friends and family. I miss that

    Reply

Leave a Reply

