Reverb10 – Dec 04 – Wonder

Be Mindful.

Image by rthakrar via Flickr

December 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year? (Author: Jeffrey Davis)

I’m being mindful. I was a little dubious of the idea at first – as I’m dubious of many things that can be lazily labelled as being too hippy dippy for my liking. But the more I read about it, the more it began to make sense, reinforced by the awareness that concepts of mindfulness are intrinsic to various talking therapies that we’re starting to introduce at work. I bought The Mindful Manifesto a few months ago as part of a BOGOF promotion, and read it in a couple of days.

I feel like I’m a member of a secret escape committee; we’re the ones who can relish routine, repetition and mundanity – instead of just tolerating it, and being mindful is the funny handshake which admits you to the group. I have handy tools which are helping me be a better listener, a better friend, parent, partner and nurse. I haven’t turned into a lentil-wearing, navel-gazing relic from Woodstock overnight, I’m just more finely-tuned as a person, more in touch with what I’m thinking and doing, and happier and more productive than I’ve been in a long time.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. i hate the hippy dippy labels too, but i’ve been so much more aligned lately with what some people might see as ‘hippy’.. but i’m just happy! a back to simplicity, intentional community living, going green, and eating raw foods.

    Reply
    • Absolutely – I think it’s more about being in tune with what’s wholesome and healthful in life, and being strong enough to say ‘No’ to things that are no good for your mind or body, even when that means going against the grain or in a different direction from the crowd; you don’t need to wear ethnic blankets and eat brown mush to do that!

      Reply
  2. “we’re the ones who can relish routine, repetition and mundanity – instead of just tolerating it” I love it. It’s so true. There’s something so wonderful about being in a stable enough place in your life to have routine and mundanity. Great thoughts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

