Reverb10 – Dec 01 – One word

Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?
(Author: Gwen Bell)

2010: Perseverance
It’s been a challenging year for so many reasons, some of them personal, some of them professional and some of them not actually my reasons, but rather things that were happening to those closest to me. There were times when these things directly impacted on me and my safety and security, and other occasions where my support or encouragement or understanding was needed by others. I had a big ‘blip’, health-wise, which was probably both symptomatic and the result of everything else that was going on, and whilst that was a truly awful time, it’s ultimately led to me sorting out some long-term medication issues and left me in better spirits than I’ve been in for years. And, of course, I finally started writing again, something I was starting to believe was nigh-on impossible.

I chose the ‘perseverance’ to describe this past year because I’m at a point now where I can see how being strong – standing up for myself and my family and my principles – has paid off. It would have been so easy to give up; if I look back at this year there are several occasions which in hindsight could have had very different outcomes – like in the movie, Sliding Doors -if I hadn’t decided to fight for what I believed in. If I was allowed two words for 2010, the second one would have been ‘gratitude’, because I am immensely blessed to have a quite charmed life, loving family, good friends, a job I love and a happy home.

2011: Embrace
Next year I’m going to try and reach out from my little bubble of safety and embrace whatever opportunities life presents me with. I want to make new friendships and nurture existing ones. I want to be brave and embrace change and uncertainty and risk instead of hiding behind what’s safe and reliable and predictable. I want to swim hard against the tide and jump into waves instead of treading water and slowly getting water-logged and heavier. I want to make sure that everyone I love knows that I love them. I’m ready to start saying ‘Yes’ instead of ‘Maybe’.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

